Arts & Humanities


Urban design matters when it comes to street life

July 23, 2015

For the first time, researchers in a mid-size city have shown that pedestrian activity increases when streets have classic urban design qualities and elements such as windows overlooking the sidewalks, small and uniform building setbacks, courtyards, outdoor dining and buildings with identifying elements. In the study, published in the Journal of Urban Design, researchers at […]


Arts seeing dramatic rise at the University of Utah

July 20, 2015

University of Utah athletics have earned a reputation for big and dedicated audiences, but the U has a new bragging right emerging. For the fourth consecutive year, the number of student tickets issued to arts events on campus considerably increased, again setting a new record for audiences in the arts. During the 2014-15 academic year, […]

Want to avoid divorce? Wait to get married — but not too long—says U researcher

July 16, 2015

If you hope to avoid divorce, what’s the ideal age to get married? For years, it seemed like the longer you waited to marry, the better. That’s because the relationship between age at marriage and divorce risk was almost linear: The older you were, the lower the chances of divorce. Although teens still face an […]

(FILES) File photo taken on August 4, 2009 shows exiled Tibetan spiritual leader the Dalai Lama during a press conference near Lausanne, Switzerland. The Dalai Lama is on a five-day visit to Switzerland. The Dalai Lama announced March 10, 2011 his plan to retire as political head of the exiled Tibetan movement, saying the time had come for his replacement by a "freely elected" leader. AFP PHOTO / FILES / Fabrice COFFRINI

The Dalai Lama makes second visit to the University of Utah

July 6, 2015

Today, on the 80th birthday of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet, the University of Utah and the Utah Tibet Foundation announced he will speak at the Huntsman Center, Sunday, Oct. 18 at 1:30 p.m. Tickets go on sale, Monday, July 13 and will be available at or the Huntsman Center ticket […]


U Chamber Choir named international champion

June 5, 2015

June 5, 2015 – The University of Utah Chamber Choir won what is considered by some as the world championship of amateur choral art, the European Choral Grand Prix. The competition includes choirs from all across the globe and has an international jury made up of judges from six different countries. The U’s choir, directed […]


University of Utah contributes to water security in Pakistan

June 4, 2015

The United States Agency for International Development has reported that, on average, more than 600 Pakistani children die each day from waterborne illness. Partnering with Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, the University of Utah is working to contribute to water security in Pakistan through the U.S. – Pakistan Center for Advanced Studies in Water. […]

Danu, a high-spirited Celtic group from Ireland, will perform "A Christmas Gathering" on December 11.

Kingsbury Hall Presents series becomes UtahPresents, expands mission

June 1, 2015

June 1, 2015 – Since 2001, Kingsbury Hall Presents has offered an eclectic season of performing artists at Kingsbury Hall on the University of Utah campus. As part of an expanded mission that reaches beyond the boundaries of the Kingsbury Hall stage into other venues and spaces on campus and in the community, the performing […]